Home > Uncategorized > Jay Wright wins Coach of the Year

Jay Wright wins Coach of the Year


Photo by Michael Dokas

Photo by Michael Dokas



For the second time in four seasons, Jay Wright has been named Coach of the Year in the Big East conference.  In the preseason Big East coaches’ poll, the Wildcats were picked to finish in fifth place.  By season’s end, the Wildcats finished above the expectations with a fourth place finish.

Despite their good finish in the conference standings, the rise in the national rankings most likely won Wright the award.  The Wildcats finished the regular season with the No. 10 ranking in the AP Poll.  They knocked off national title contender Pittsburgh and also had several other big wins in conference.  What Wright was especially happy with this season was the team’s ability to bounce back after a loss.  The Wildcats did not lose consecutive games all season.

In the other awards announced today, UConn center Hasheem Thabeet and Pittsburgh forward DeJuan Blair shared Player of the Year honors.  Georgetown center Greg Monroe was named Rookie of the Year.

-David Cassilo

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: