Home > Uncategorized > Wright meets with Sixers, withdraws name

Wright meets with Sixers, withdraws name

wright

 

VILLANOVA, Pa. – In response to reports linking his name to the Philadelphia 76ers vacant head coaching position, Villanova’s Jay Wright said today that although he met with the team’s president and general manager Ed Stefanski last week, he requested that his name be removed from consideration for the position.

 

“Last week, Ed reached out to me to see if I would be willing to speak to him about the Sixers’ coaching position,” stated Wright. “He is a longtime friend of mine whom I have great respect for and is someone I talk to often. We had a lively conversation about the vision Ed has for the Sixers organization. As a lifelong Sixers fan, I was honored to be part of the process.

 

“Following our meeting, I called Ed to thank him and requested that he remove me from consideration. I love Villanova and it is where I want to be. I am grateful to the Sixers for including me in the process. There is a lot to look forward to for Sixer fans like me with the young talent they have put together and the leadership of Ed Stefanski.”

 

– This hasn’t been the first time we’ve heard Wright’s name in connection with the 76ers, and it may not be the last, but with what Villanova accomplished last season coupled with the great recruiting class coming in, it did not make too much sense for Wright to leave.  Although he did not take it this time, from what Wright said it seemed as though the 76ers job may be one of the few jobs that he would actually consider leaving Villanova for – just not now.  

 

-David Cassilo

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

